Macro Monday: Butterflies and a Royal Caterpillar

I adore butterflies. There aren’t so many of them around like when I was little, and I blame the eighties. I remember when I was small, the uneducated trend of catching butterflies, killing them and placing them in frames disturbed me.
I visited Butterflies for Africa in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa and I fell in love with this little guy. He looks like royalty in those splendid green and gold colours!

caterpillar caterpillar1

It was a pleasure to get to see so many butterflies up close. I also saw a gorgeous glass winged butterfly but battled to capture him 😦

DSCN0694

??????????

??????????

??????????

??????????

??????????

??????????

And to end it off, their coffee shop rocks! How is this awesome sandwich, I just had to show you – cheese, tomato, avocado and pepperdews (a South African sweet piquanté pepper) with a sweet chilli sauce on a French loaf. Ahh, pepperdews. My reason for being! I had no shame in devouring the entire thing. By myself.

Pietermaritzburg-20130925-01254

11 thoughts on “Macro Monday: Butterflies and a Royal Caterpillar

  1. Sonel

    That caterpillar is just absolutely adorable and your shots are gorgeous! I love watching the butterflies as well and now and then I would see the blue and black ones but they are way too fast for me. We do have the little white/yellow ones here and I would spray the flowers with some sugar water and sometimes they would linger longer so I can take shots.

    That sandwich looks so delicious and healthy. I love peppadews as well and of course avo’s are my most favourite. Thanks for sharing these lovely photo’s hon. 😀 *big hugs*

    Reply
  2. hugmamma

    Butterflies remind me of spring and summer…long gone here in our neck of the woods…Seattle suburbs. Sigh…

    hugs for sharing these beautiful specimens of nature… 🙂

    Reply
  3. Cathy Ulrich

    Wonderful shots. The caterpillar is beautiful! And I LOVE pepperdews! We get them pickled here in the States. What a great idea to put them on a sandwich with avocado. I am definitely stealing that idea! Thanks for checking out my blog and for the follow. I look forward to seeing more of your beautiful photography!
    Cathy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

